top of page
Search

How should I feel about you, Covid? ( ͡ᵔ ⏥ ͡ᵔ)


Our Beloved and Precious Mama Intay.


MAMA! MAMA! MAMAAAAAAAAA! (Pillow Scream!)


What a journey it’s been for you, for me, and for all of us.


The World! You’ve lived for over 92years, from 1928 (before WWII- 1 Sep 1939–2 Sep 1945), you were 12–17 years old then. Now, I realized the significance of your death date: 3 September 2021.


You have celebrated countless occasions, birthdays each year with your parents, brothers, sisters, husband, sons, daughters, grandchildren, grand grandchildren, in-laws, relatives, neighbors, friends, and yeah not to mention, funerals and death anniversaries.


I’m not sure anymore if I like, I love, or I hate COVID-Paindemic.


I LOVE:

> coz I got the chance to revisit my yesteryears, accepted meself, reconnected with people, relearning the culture, understanding their beliefs and ideologies, and learning from their stories.


> I managed to stay closer with you and everyone after so many years of being away; (not quite though, it’s so close, yet so far)

> The dream to be with you, near you, to take care of you as well as my bio parents.


> I got the chance to finally spend time with them longer for the first time, unexpectedly.


> I realized I spent more time with you than them during my childhood days, and I now understand why.


> This was my wish. To just relax. To sit and think nothing but meself and my world. GRANTED.


I LIKE:

> coz I learned something new I never imagined I’d do.

> rediscovered me, and I never really thought of staying in this world long enough like yourself. When I looked at you when I touched you when I kissed and hugged you, I asked myself: How can she live this long and strong?

> At 92, you can still walk and talk without a wheelchair nor cane and you even refused to use one.

> Time travels secondary years, you’re my model, my hero, and my great beloved Mama/Grandma growing up from an extended family.

> Because of you, I learned to discipline myself by waking up at dawn on Saturdays/weekends… why? because I hate to see you doing all those huge buckets of laundry for your grown-up children and other grandchildren. I’d wake up earlier than you, finish all the laundry, cleaned the surroundings, and pretended to fall back asleep whenever you’re up.

> Coming home from school, I’d help you prepare for your Filipino delis small business like Puto, Suman, Biko, etc., singing and dancing while doing so, and you’re smiling together with Tita Liging and yeah I know I was trying so hard to sing and you’d teased me for someone like-Pilita. If I’ll think about this now, I am probably a reincarnated person from thousands of years ago. (oops, I know most of us are Christians. Yeah, I get it.). I see you there smiling, Ma!


> Early in the morning on school days, I’d wake up early together with Ate May to help you sell those delis to our neighbors and neighboring barangays. We made some great connections there, you see! And brought those at schools even University days selling goods to my supportive classmates secretly at times.


> When I was away, you’re offering prayers for me and everyone each day.


Thank you for all these wonderful lessons and learnings, Ma. I know I was stubborn as a child but in the end, it made me a Responsible daughter, sister, cousin, niece, granddaughter, don’t you agree?


I AM JUST LIKE YOU in that aspect. I had to be with all those stages and chapters…we all are because we all have a purpose in this world and your legacy will live on forever.


Thank you for being a HUGE GIGANTIC ENORMOUS PART OF ME and MESELF as well as my siblings. We all love you, and we thank you for everything you’ve done for us all your APOs and your Anaks. Salamat, Ma! I love you, Mama Intay


WHAT DO I HATE?

> I missed the chance to get those dreamed opportunities because of travel restrictions but I guess it all happens for a reason. I am still thankful and grateful of course especially meeting new folks along the way. Thank you and very pleased to e-meet you.

> It’s difficult to move around with all these MCQs and GCQs.

> As much as I’d like to spend most of my time with you, hear your amazing stories, and everyone, I can’t.

> Some friends died and can’t do anything about it but pray.

> Tita Liging died after Tita Nora. Mama Linda died and we managed to have proper funerals and tributes for all of them.

> YOU, MA! You lived for over 92 years! You are a NONAGENARIAN! You took care of your 14 children and some of your grandchildren, myself included, and many other grand grandchildren!


You DESERVE A BETTER & HONORABLE FUNERAL for God’s sake!!!! BUT that’s not even an OPTION!!!!


> The last time I saw you and me wearing all black, I just told you, I am sorry I couldn’t hug and kissed you goodbye, Ma. Even though I wanted to. Who would’ve thought that’s gonna be the last.

> Seeing your remains in a BLACK BAG is soooooooooooo painful and hurting!!!!!! Like being draggggggeeeeddddd

> I wanted to scream at those people who carried your remains!!!

You took care of your body for over 92years, but they just disposed of it like nothing!!!!! But I AM trying to understand as well that they’re too tired themselves…

> I wanted to teach people a lesson about visiting you, but I can’t because I know they missed you and you missed them too. The kids somehow gave you the strength to live, be happy and they felt the same way too. You lived long enough for all of us, and you’re born to be around so many of us.


WHAT A WORLD OF RIGHT OR WRONG & REASONINGS!


Ma, YOU ARE NOT ALONE. YOU’RE NEVER ALONE. WE ARE WITH YOU. It’s just so unfortunate that you had to die in this kind of situation, and we are very sorry. We could’ve done more!


Because of Covid, we didn’t get the centennial goal…


The tiny place of Freedom Park, Malaybalay you refused to leave will never be the same without you, OUR QUEEN!!!!!


We love you and we will miss you dearly, Mother Dear, Mama Intay!


Rest in Heavenly Grace and in Peace!


See you and all our departed beloved in His Time.

3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page